Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Current Discussions

More Topics »

What is 'Context' for e-Resources?

Speaker: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , Director of Library Solutions, Credo Reference

Wednesday, March 2, 10AM EST / 3PM GMT / 3PM UTC or Wednesday, March 16, 1PM EST / 10AM PST / 5PM UTC

On vacation recently I read Craig Child's Finder's Keepers.  In it he described how removing archaeological artifacts from their discovery site reduced their value—mainly because displacement eliminates the context in which the artifact was created and used.  Archaeologists and museums might be able to protect the artifact by removing it but they are not able to re-create this context.  Are librarians and libraries facing this same problem? We often talk about providing the user their information 'in context'.  What does this mean?  What are the best practices in this area?

 

Recorded Wednesday, March 2, 10AM EST / 3PM GMT / 3PM UTC

{mp4-flv height="400"}eresources-in-context{/mp4-flv}

 

References

Join our Newsletter!

Libraries Thriving promotes information and digital literacy by encouraging conversation and collaboration between libraries, publishers and library vendors.

Sign up for our newsletter here!

TWEETS FOR LIBRARIES THRIVING

libsthriving Florida Polytechnic U opens huge bookless library, promises to make many more books available for the students: http://t.co/PU58ruy3rb
libsthriving Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them at all. ~ Henry David Thoreau
libsthriving Anyone using Freegal (free & legal music downloads for libraries)? What has the experience been like for your users? http://t.co/eqSVAzETSf
libsthriving RT @credoreference: All College Faculty who participate in our 2014 Research Skills survey will be entered to win a free iPad! https://t.co
libsthriving RT @credoreference: All College Students who participate in our 2014 Research Skills survey will be entered to win a free iPad! https://t.c…

Follow Us on Facebook